The Paranoid Squirrel ep 549

April 22nd, 2017


A new band to The Paranoid Squirrel are The Black Angels who are first up this week with a track from their “Death Song” LP. The Chuck Norris Experiment have covered an Adam West track on their up and coming “Chück Me!” album that has also just been released as a 7” which of course I play. Swiftly following on are Jake Starr and the Delicious Fullness as Jake used to be the throatalist with Adam West. Peter Perrett, singer with The Only Ones, is just about to release his first solo album “How the West was Won”, the title track of which I play. TV Eye, a band that Duran Duran owes a couple of their hits to, have just released an album of studio and rehearsal material recorded between 1977-78, amongst their ranks are Dave Kusworth (The Jacobite’s), Dave Twist (The Black Bombers) and Andrew Wickett (Duran Duran). Of course, I play something from it. Over Easter Flash House, Scumbag Millionaire, Bitch Queens and The Hip Priests set off for a four date Tourette dubbed “The Furious, faultless, four headed sexed up, revved up Rock ‘n’ Roll revue that’s guaranteed to lose money” because you could see all four bands, two which had been flown in from foreign climes, for a fiver. And to lose them even more money; the first ten people through the door, at each gig, got a 12-track tour ep for free. Naturally a track form each band is played. Straight after The Hip Priests I play some Body Count. I’ve never really been into them. I think naively I shied away because of Ice-T’s Rap connection. It’s not a bad album to be honest, the Slayer medley sounded like Slayer with Ice-T on vocals, it all right but I was expecting something else/more. In a great piece of linkage, I managed to play the new Black Bullets single whilst talking about early curfews. South African based band Four King Ace, think about it, have a track played from their debut album “Never Aim to Please” but it’s Crazy Lixx and a track from their 5th and new album “Rough Justice” that ends this week’s show.